A range of new tests and amendments have been added to the National Genomic Test  Directory (Test Directory) as part of the April 2022 update.

The Test Directory specifies which genomic tests are commissioned by the NHS in England, the patients who will be eligible to access a test, and the technology by which they are available.

Key additions

Among the new tests and amendments being added are:

  • Non-invasive follicular thyroid neoplasm with papillary like nuclei
  • New gene targets for Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer, breast and endometrial cancer
  • Acute Myeloid Leukaemia (AML)
  • Non-Invasive Pre-natal Diagnosis for Retinoblastoma
  • Acute Rhabdomyolosis.

You can see the full list of new tests, amendments, patient eligibility criteria, and information about clinical specialities who would be expected to request tests on the Test Directory website.

What does the Tests Directory cover?

The Test Directory currently covers more than 3,000 rare diseases and over 200 types of cancer, and demonstrates the NHS as a world leader in harnessing the benefits of genomics to deliver better patient care.

All applications to the Test Directory are assessed based on scientific and clinical evidence available. Read the policy to update the Test Directory.

If you have a question or want to find out more about the Test Directory, please email:  [email protected].