Genomic Laboratory Hub Services


Since October 2018, genomic testing in the NHS in England has been delivered through a single national testing network, consolidating and enhancing the existing laboratory provision.

The network comprises five key elements

  1. A national genomic laboratory service through a network of Genomic Laboratory Hubs
  2. A new National Genomic Test Directory to underpin the genomic laboratory network
  3. A national Whole Genomic Sequencing provision and supporting informatics infrastructure developed in partnership with Genomics England
  4. An evolved Genomic Medicine Centre service
  5. A national co-ordinating and oversight function within NHS England (Genomics Unit)

There are seven Genomic Laboratory Hubs (GLHs), each responsible for coordinating services for a particular part of England

  • Wessex and West Midlands GLH led by Birmingham Women’s and Children’s NHS Foundation Trust
  • East Midlands and East of England GLH led by Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • North West GLH led by Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust
  • London North GLH led by Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust
  • London South GLH led by Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust
  • South West GLH led by North Bristol NHS Trust
  • North East and Yorkshire GLH led by The Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

National Genomic Test Directory

The 2020/2021 National Genomic Test Directory for rare and inherited disorders and cancer.

View Directory
Genomic Laboratory Hub Services